Vampires

I recall splintered thorns from distant roses
colour faded, life seeping, chlorophyll bleeding from the petals
this poetry,
hands typing, words gliding through my memory
pictures flitting, bringing to mind what’s special
love? life sucking,
vampires roam the empty streets
I cower behind the judgement screen,
frozen, spotting the exit doors
This fragrance is too strong, sweat from worn out bodies
it permeates my nostrils
I am lured to the mirage, drawn in like bait
my neck is bared, arteries exposed
yet skin ice cold, like diamond hard rocks
I am invulnerable, unstoppable, but trembling in my terror
exposed, living prose
take my mind as a sacred symbol.

The petals fall to the floor, no more,
and I fall with them.

Leave a Reply

