Disconnected

Back in the days when everything was so new

I prayed to a god who I thought was so true

but the walls came crashing around
and I welcomed the rubble with open arms
until it caved in and trapped me inside
then the day came and I knew
No more, I won’t let go
Fight on and remain, I can be strong
No more control, control’s gone
I’m alone but not undone
And now I’m so disconnected
Nothing in the world will make me feel
the life that trapped my heart under steel
I’m much too disconnected
I can’t bring back what was never real
Worlds collide and this is what it’s like to be free
Brick and stone built me up
until it pulled me back down
into the shadows, into the chasm
You can’t lose what can never be found
Then I flew away into the clouds
and my feet forgot the ground
but then I realized
No more, I won’t let go
Fight on and remain, I can be strong
No more control, control’s gone
I’m alone but not undone

 

 

And now I’m so disconnected

 

Nothing in the world will make me feel

 

the life that trapped my heart under steel
I’m much too disconnected
I can’t bring back what was never real
Worlds collide and this is what it’s like to be free
The mirror on the wall hides this need for sanity from me
The cracks stare down at my eyes, they mock this broken piece of me
I can barely see the dream I believed to be the real me
The glass is closing in around and now it’s become a part of me
And now I’m so disconnected

 

Nothing in the world will make me feel

 

the life that trapped my heart under steel
I’m much too disconnected
I can’t bring back what was never real
Worlds collide and this is what it’s like to be free
No more, I won’t let go
Fight on and remain, I can be strong
No more control, control’s gone
I’m alone but not undone
Leave a Reply

