Inmate

Straining to see through the ocean of tears in my eyes

I can’t ease the pain that drowns away my life inside

Resisting the urge to grab the razor from it’s hiding place
Instead I cut away at the last scraps of my mind
Something should pay for making me this way
Always pushing away the happiness that I find
There has to be another way to coexist with the pain I hold to feel alive
I can’t remain like this
Can’t deny this love, your light, your face this time
Fighting my way through the triangle of self-inflicted lies
I succumb to the bliss that suppresses my cries
Screaming out for justice as my fists pound the wall to stifle the longing to fade away and die
Something should pay for making me this way
Always pushing away the happiness that I find
There has to be another way to coexist with the pain I hold to feel alive
I can’t remain like this
Can’t deny this love, your light, your face this time
I’m holding on to what used to be
Chains around my heart bind you to me
I can’t imagine a world without you here
But I’m the fool
I played my card
I bit the hand that fed my chance
And now forgiveness is a sin
Trapped inside this hell alone
The penance for my crime
Straining to see through the ocean of tears in my eyes
I can’t ease the pain that drowns away my life inside
Resisting the urge to grab the razor from it’s hiding place
Instead I cut away at the last scraps of my mind
Something should pay for making me this way
Always pushing away the happiness that I find
There has to be another way to coexist with the pain I hold to feel alive
I can’t remain like this
Can’t deny this love, your light, your face this time
I’m holding on to what used to be
Chains around my heart bind you to me
I can’t imagine a world without you here
But I’m the fool
I played my card
I bit the hand that fed my chance
And now forgiveness is a sin
Trapped inside this hell alone
The penance for my crime
Fighting my way through the triangle of self-inflicted lies
I succumb to the bliss that suppresses my cries
Screaming out for justice as my fists pound the wall to stifle the longing to fade away and die
Leave a Reply

